Wallabies captain Michael Hooper and star centre Samu Kerevi nominated for Player of the Year award

Wallabies skipper Michael Hooper and star centre Samu Kerevi have both been nominated for the prestigious World Rugby Men’s 15s Player of the Year award.

While Wallabies players have been nominated for the award on 13 separate occasions since its inception back in 2001, an Australian is yet to win the award.

READ MORE: Mitchell Marsh’s three ball onslaught at T20 World Cup

The nomination is Hooper’s second after he was nominated back in 2015, with he and Kerevi the first Wallabies to be nominated since Israel Folau in 2017.

Re-watch the England vs Australia rugby clash on Stan Sport – the home of the Wallabies, All Blacks and Springboks spring tours. Start your seven day free trial here!

It has proved to be a memorable year for both players, with Hooper becoming Australia’s most-capped skipper, while Kerevi’s return to the side sparked a five-match winning streak, its best since 2008.

In addition to Hooper and Kerevi, Andrew Kellaway received a nomination for the World Rugby Breakthrough Player of the Year after scoring eight tries in 11 Tests following his debut against France in July.

READ MORE: World Cup batting masterclass hailed as ‘one of the best’

READ MORE: Hamilton’s horror F1 weekend ends with remarkable glory

Wallabies coach Dave Rennie also received recognition for a strong year, nominated for the World Rugby Coach of the Year.

Rennie and Kellaway’s fortunes will be decided by the World Rugby Awards panel, while the Player of the Year award will be decided by a fan vote for the first time in its 21-year history.

“This is a huge achievement, and great recognition for Michael, Samu, Andrew and Dave after what has been an encouraging Wallabies season,” Rugby Australia CEO Andy Marinos said in a statement.

“It’s great personal reward for each of them as we continue to build into 2022 and the Rugby World Cup in France which is now just around the corner.

“I encourage every fan to make sure they get online and vote for Michael and Samu to ensure an Australian takes home the World Rugby Player of the Year crown.”

The winners from each of the various categories in the World Rugby awards will be unveiled between December 6-10.

For a daily dose of the best of the breaking news and exclusive content from Wide World of Sports, subscribe to our newsletter by clicking here!

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.